Bless the Lord, Oh my soul, and all that is within me…


It is another rainy day in Little Rock, but there is sunshine in my soul.  Oh, I know it is corny, but that’s just who I am.

Today we look at Proverbs 6, warnings against folly, wickedness and adultery.  Proverbs 6 begins by warning us of the folly of debt.  Someone should pin these verses to the pillows of each of our elected officials.  Perhaps if they had to sleep with debt and awake to see its ugly face every morning they would not be so anxious to keep increasing the debt to the point we will never be able to repay.  But, I regress.  In the light of today’s economy, it would do us all well to get out of debt any way we can.  Debt is a form of slavery, and God did not deliver us from sin just so we would be under bondage of man.  Verse 10 hits me hard:  A little sleep, a little slumber, a little folding of the hands to rest–and poverty will come on you like a bandit and scarcity like an armed man.

I sleep too much.  It’s true.  I should be out every day wading through the waters of Little Rock, gathering fish for the Kingdom, but I sleep.  No one wants to think of being in poverty after working hard all of your life, but it happens.  Sometimes the cause is a devastating illness of a loved one that takes all of the family’s resources; of late many of us have lost resources due to the decline of the stock market.  But even worse is the poverty of our souls when we neglect the Word of God or spending time in prayer or helping others in need.  God help me to stay alert and actively seek out opportunities to bring others to You.

Prov 12-19 warns of one who plots evil in his heart and always stirs up dissension, and goes one to tell of things that are detestable to God.  Since I am a part of a Christian community, I feel insulated against the person who plots evil, but then I look at our government and think either the inmates have taken over the asylum, or there are people in Washington who are purposely bringing our country down.  Only God knows the hearts of men.

We are told God hates haughty eyes (pride), a lying tongue, hands that shed innocent blood, a heart that devises wicked schemes, feet that are quick to rush to evil, a false witness who pours out lies, and a man who stirs up dissension among brothers.  As Christians, people who follow after Christ, we should not exhibit any of these characteristics.  The list before us are more than character flaws, they are sins against man and sins against our Lord and Savior.  A man who stirs up dissension among brothers is one who causes problems in the church body–God forbid.  May we pray each day that our hearts would be kept pure through the power of the Holy Spirt and that only the fruits of the Spirit would be visible in our lives.

Proverbs 6:20-23 are some of my favorite verses, where the son is told to keep his fathers commands and remember his mother’s teachings, for they will guide him, watch over him when he sleeps and the commands are a lamp and the teaching is light.  I have one son and two stepsons and I pray this over them.  I pray this over my grandchildren, that they would always walk in the light that God shines before them.  And, I want them to remember that sometimes the light is only enough to show the path immediately before them.  It is in these instances they should move slowly, never walking ahead of the light.  God, keep my children and their children safe and may they all know You in your fullness.

Leave a Reply

